In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This).”

Recount your best dream or worst nightmare.

I am very blessed to have good dreams and vivid dreams. So I am going to write about a nightmare which sheds a lot of light onto my personality now that I think of it.

My worst dreams are always about an impending unfortunate event. They’re recurring and it involves me lying in bed. It’s in the twilight hours before dawn so the light is grey. I know something is coming for me. I know what it will feel like when it reaches me and I know what to do when it does. And yet I still am afraid. It’s an evil, pressing presence that comes. A black mist that has a shape when I see it and at other times I keep my eyes closed so I don’t have to see it and now I’m beginning to wonder if that’s my subconscious trying to work through abuse I have gone through. Because the black mist always strikes me at my core. And it feels violating. It feels like a betrayal and I feel helpless against it. Wow, guess this is a good prompt for me to have. I never really thought about this dream like this before. Hmmm got more work to do looks like 🙂

