In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Dictionary, Shmictionary.”

Time to confess: tell us about a time when you used a word whose meaning you didn’t actually know (or were very wrong about, in retrospect).

i think i’ve always had some difficulty with using the word ironic correctly. i remember a particularly vivid event where i was sitting with my brother and sister at the kitchen table of my grandparents’ down in South Carolina and we were poking fun at each other for saying ironic incorrectly. in an incorrect context. i haven’t really been a stickler for grammar…at all in my life, but i do like to think that know my vocabulary pretty well and stick to my guns on it because…you know…i’m stubborn.

anyhow, the more we were using the word ironic, the more it seemed to apply to even the most bland and emotionally vacant situations. it was kind of strange how that worked. and that’s about all.

